EN | FR

– The interview –

A few months after the release of his “WINKK” signature edition headphones, Quentin Mosimann, the superstar DJ, offered us a short interview inbetween two gigs.

  • RED SOLE is your latest single.
    Can you give us more details about its production, did you get any help?


    Indeed, "Red Sole" is my latest track, besides the remix of “Feel the vibe” for Bob Sinclar, but I’m also about to release "Jetlag" in two weeks or so, via "Change Your Mind Records", my label. I try to be in the studio as much as I can, but I often create new tracks on the move (planes, trains) during my tours, and I usually finalise them in the studio when I get a few days off between two concerts. I sometimes work alone, but also with other artists stopping by the studio. I like sharing ideas, it’s super creative.

    Working on a new album?


    Things go really quickly in the EDM world, we keep piling up tracks without necessarily releasing albums. I produced many underground club tracks lately and I’m going to focus again on mainstream tracks that radios can actually broadcast. We’ll know if I can produce a new album by assessing this work, but this also depends on record labels. But we’re not there yet, and I’ll have to spend many hours in studio and on stage first!

  • You are on tour across China before going back to France, did you notice any difference in the atmosphere or behaviours abroad?


    I love going to Asia, I usually tour the region 3-4 times a year. It’s a very different culture from a country to another, it depends on their knowledge of EDM really, of DJs who often come and play in their country. I know that China, just as Korea, Japan or Indonesia love the "French Touch" and DJs ranked among the Top100 Djs. I am lucky enough to stand in this Top 100 for the 3rd consecutive year now and to be French so I’m always incredibly well received there. This audience really loves live performances and shows.

    Are you currently listening to new DJs? Did you find any talented ones?


    Of course! I receive a very significant number of demos and I listen to every one of them, even if I can’t answer to everybody. I am always looking for the latest trends and tracks. By the way, I recently signed a new electro artist on my label, Deed, and I certainly expect to sign more artists to give them a chance to grow. There are many very good yet unknown producers, but I have to admit there are also lots of really bad stuff… Fortunately, it is really easy to spot the difference between people who got talent, and people who don’t.

  • Any advice for people who want to start mixing?


    Unfortunately, there is no "magic bullet" nor secret: you need to work hard, always remain thirsty for all kinds of music, listen to as much music as you can to broaden your musical culture. Mixing is different than producing, you need to feel your track, have technical skills, perfectly know your hardware and listen to people.
    We must never forget, above all, that our job is to make people dance.

  • Many thanks to Quentin for his kindness and his time

    Interviewed for Yours by Audiophony®

    © June 2015 HITMUSIC

EN | FR

– L’interview –

Quelques mois après la sortie de son casque signature “WINKK”, le DJ superstar Quentin Mosimann, nous a accordé quelques lignes entre deux concerts.

  • Ton dernier single en date est RED SOLE.
    Peux-tu nous parler de la production, as-tu été aidé ?


    "Red Sole" est en effet le dernier, outre le remix de "Feel the vibe" pour Bob Sinclar, mais j'ai également "Jetlag" qui arrive dans une quinzaine de jours sur mon label "Change Your Mind records". J'essaie d'être un maximum en studio, je commence les titres souvent dans les transports en tournée (avions, trains) et je les finis au studio dès que j'ai quelques jours entre les dates. Je travaille parfois seul, parfois avec d'autres artistes qui passent au studio, j'aime ce partage avec les idées de chacun, c'est super créatif.

    Un nouvel album en préparation ?


    Dans la musique électronique, ça va très vite, on enchaîne les titres et on ne fait pas forcément d'album. J'ai produit beaucoup de titres clubs, underground, ces derniers mois et je vais me concentrer de nouveau sur des titres plus mainstream et accessibles pour les radios. À partir de ce travail et selon les labels, on pourra évaluer la possibilité d'un nouvel album. Nous n'en sommes pas encore là, j'ai déjà beaucoup d'heures à passer en studio et sur scène d'abord !

  • Tu es en tournée en Chine avant de revenir en France, as-tu noté une différence d’ambiance ou d’attitude lors de tes prestations à l’étranger ?


    J'adore aller jouer en Asie, j'y fais 3-4 tournées par an. C'est une culture très différente d'un pays à l'autre, ça dépend de leur connaissance de la musique électronique, des DJs qui viennent souvent jouer dans le pays. Je sais que la Chine, tout comme la Corée, le Japon ou l'Indonésie, apprécient particulièrement la "French Touch" et les DJs classés dans le Top100 DJs. J'ai de la chance d'y figurer depuis 3 ans et d'être français donc je reçois un super accueil là-bas. C'est un public qui aime les performances en live, le show.

    Est-ce que tu écoutes de nouveaux DJ's actuellement ? En as-tu trouvé de bons ?


    Bien sûr! Je reçois un nombre très conséquent de démos et je les écoute toutes, même si je ne peux pas répondre à tout le monde. Je suis toujours aux aguets de ce qui se fait, des titres qui sortent. J'ai d'ailleurs signé un nouvel artiste électro sur mon label, Deed, et je compte bien en signer d'autres à l'avenir pour les développer. Il y a de très bons producteurs qui sont encore dans l'ombre, mais il faut avouer aussi qu'il y a plein de choses mauvaises... Heureusement, le tri est vite fait, on repère vite la différence entre ceux qui ont du talent et ceux qui n'en ont pas.

  • Un conseil pour ceux qui veulent démarrer le mix ?


    Il n'y a pas de recette miracle mais pas de secret non plus: il faut beaucoup travailler, rester curieux de tout style de musique, en consommer beaucoup et ainsi élargir sa culture musicale au maximum. Le mix, c'est différent de la production, il faut savoir sentir sa piste, être un minimum bon techniquement, connaître son matériel parfaitement et être à l'écoute des gens. Il ne faut jamais oublier que notre métier, c'est faire danser les gens avant tout.

  • Merci à Quentin pour sa gentillesse et sa disponibilité

    Propos recueillis pour Yours by Audiophony®

    © JUIN 2015 HITMUSIC